What are the Types of Cerebral Palsy? Bend/Portland, Oregon Birth Injury Lawyers

Our Bend/Portland, Oregon Birth Injury Lawyers Share Information: What are the Different Types of Cerebral Palsy?

Cerebral palsy is a disorder or group of disorders which affect generally how a person moves.  Also known as CP, cerebral palsy also affects a person’s balance, posture, and ability to control his or her body.  There are three general types of cerebral palsy.  Each type is classified by what part of the brain is damaged and what symptoms are manifested by that damage.  While the types of cerebral palsy share the same underlying symptoms, they also have unique attributes.  Our Bend/Portland, Oregon birth injury lawyers discuss the four main types of cerebral palsy and how they could be caused by Oregon medical malpractice.

Three Types of Cereal Palsy to Know

There are three generally accepted types of cerebral palsy.  They are spastic, athetoid, ataxic, and mixed cerebral palsy.  Each of these conditions results from damage to the basil ganglia and cerebellum, but there are different locations for the lesions on these brain structures and different severities.  Our Bend/Portland, Oregon birth injury lawyers explain these three types:

Spastic Cerebral Palsy – This is the most common type of cerebral palsy.  It is characterized by individuals who are hypertonic, or who have abnormally strong muscle tone and flexion.  This means that muscles and joints after very stiff, tight, and become difficult to move.  This means that individuals with spastic cerebral palsy have difficulty moving due to hardened muscle tone.  Some individuals even have trouble laying down comfortably.  The part of the brain which is additionally damaged is the motor cortex or pyramidal tracts.  

Athetoid Cerebral Palsy – This is the next most common type of cerebral palsy.  It is characterized by involuntary movements such as jerky movements, slow writhing, and other twisting movements.  As a result, individuals with athetoid cerebral palsy burn a lot of calories and may have difficulty maintaining weight.  Individuals may also have increased muscle tone due to constant flexion and contractions that are involuntary.  This could cause rigidity and result in difficulty sitting, walking, standing, and otherwise moving.  Individuals with athetoid cereal palsy may also have difficulty speaking and eating.  The part of the brain which is damaged here includes the thalamus.

Ataxic Cerebral Palsy – This is the next most common type of cerebral palsy.  It is characterized by tremors during voluntary movements which make fine motor skills more difficult.  This means individual have difficulty walking due to tremors while walking, but also eating, writing, and other fine motor skills like buttoning clothing.  The part of the brain most effected is the cerebellum, but to a much larger extent than other types of CP.

Understanding the Types of CP and Getting Help From our Bend/Portland, Oregon Birth Injury Lawyers

In addition to these three general types of cerebral palsy, there is also a mixed cerebral palsy which includes a combination of different types of cerebral palsy.  The cause of cerebral palsy could be due to natural consequences, but it could also be due to Oregon medical malpractice.  Given that the lifetime costs of cerebral palsy is over $1.4 million, always have a birth injury lawyer review whether your loved one’s CP was caused by preventable, medical errors.  

If you or a loved one have been seriously injured or killed as a result of medical malpractice contact the Oregon Medical Malpractice Lawyers at Kuhlman Law at our number below or fill out the intake form.  We offer a free initial case evaluation and handle cases on a contingency fee which means that you pay no money unless we recover. 


Our law firm handles cases throughout the state including Bend and Portland Oregon, Redmond, Central Oregon, Multnomah County, Deschutes County, Salem, Eugene, Corvallis, Lane County, Medford, Gresham, Albany, Medford, Beaverton, Umatilla, Pendleton, and Hillsboro.  

We also have an office in Minneapolis, Minnesota and take medical malpractice cases throughout the Twin Cities, including St. Paul, Hennepin County, Ramsey County, Dakota County, Washington County, Anoka County, Scott County, Blaine, Stillwater, and Saint Paul Minnesota.  

Please act quickly, there is a limited time (Statute of Limitations) in which you can bring a claim under the law.

For a free case evaluation


(541) 385-1999 in Bend, Oregon
(503) 479-3646 in Portland, Oregon
(612) 444-3374 in Minnesota

– or fill out the form below –

Recent Posts

Call Now Button